No 46—2006] Third Session, Third Parliament

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

THURSDAY, 21 SEPTEMBER 2006

- 1. The House met at 14:03.
- 2. The Deputy Speaker took the Chair and requested members to observe a moment of silence for prayers or meditation.
- 3. [14:04] The Chief Whip of the Majority Party moved: That the House refers the *Government Immovable Asset Management Bill* back to the Portfolio Committee on Public Works for further consideration.

Agreed to.

- 4. [14:05] The Chief Whip of the Majority Party moved: That the House establishes an Ad Hoc Committee on the Review of State Institutions Supporting Constitutional Democracy and the Public Service Commission—
 - (1) the Committee to consist of 10 members as follows: ANC 5; DA 2; IFP 1; and other parties 2;
 - (2) the Committee to review State Institutions Supporting Constitutional Democracy as listed in chapter 9 of the Constitution as well as the Public Service Commission as established in chapter 10 of the Constitution, for the purpose of—
 - (a) assessing whether the current and intended Constitutional and legal mandates of these institutions are suitable for the South African environment, whether the consumption of resources by them is justified in relation to their outputs and contribution to democracy, and whether a rationalisation of function, role or organisation is desirable or will diminish the focus on important areas;
 - (b) reviewing the appropriateness of the appointment and employment arrangements for commissions and their secretariats with a view to enhanced consistency, coherence, accountability and affordability;
 - (c) reviewing institutional governance arrangements in order to develop a model of internal accountability and efficiency;

- (d) improving the co-ordination of work between the institutions covered in this review, as well as improving co-ordination and co-operation with government and civil society;
- (e) recognising the need for a more structured oversight role by Parliament in the context of their independence; and
- (f) reviewing the funding models of the institutions, including funding derived from transfers and licences and other fees, with a view to improving accountability, independence and efficiency;
- (3) the Committee to conduct its review also with reference to other organs of state of a similar nature whose work is closely related to the work of institutions covered in this review;
- (4) the Committee may exercise those powers in Rule 138 that may assist it in carrying out its task; and
- (5) the Committee to report by not later than 30 June 2007.

Agreed to.

5. FIRST ORDER [14:05]

Consideration of Special Report of Joint Standing Committee on Intelligence (JSCI) (Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports, 21 August 2006, p 1790—*Reports of Inspector General of Intelligence*).

Debate concluded.

The Deputy Chief Whip of the Majority Party moved: That the Report be noted.

Motion agreed to.

Report accordingly noted.

6. SECOND ORDER [15:10]

Consideration of *Request on Recommendations on Appointment of councillors to the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa* (as received from Minister) (Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports, 20 September 2006, p 2078).

Question put: That Dr A J Barendse, Ms M Mohlala, Mr R Nkuna, Ms B Ntombela and Prof J C W van Rooyen be approved for appointment as councillors to fill vacancies on the Council of the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa.

Declarations of vote made on behalf of Inkatha Freedom Party, Democratic Alliance and African National Congress.

Question agreed to (Inkatha Freedom Party dissenting).

Dr A J Barendse, Ms M Mohlala, Mr R Nkuna, Ms B Ntombela and Prof J C W van Rooyen accordingly approved for appointment as councillors to fill vacancies on the Council of the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa.

7. THIRD ORDER [15:18]

Consideration of Report of Ad Hoc Committee on Nomination of Persons to fill Vacancies on Commission for Gender Equality (Announcements, Tablings and Committee Report, 18 September 2006, p 2053).

Question put: That Adv S Khutsoane, Ms N Memani-Balani, Ms R Shabodien, Mr B G Khumalo and Ms K V Meruti be recommended for appointment as part-time councillors, and Dr T Maitse, Ms N P Gasa, Ms J L Hicks, Mr D M Shozi, Ms Y Abrahams, and Ms N E P Loyilane be recommended for appointment as full-time councillors on the Commission for Gender Equality.

AYES—176: Abram, S; Ainslee, A R; Anthony, T G; Asiya, S E; Asmal, A K; Batyi, F; Benjamin, J; Bhamjee, Y S; Bhengu, F; Bhengu, P; Bhoola, R B; Bici, J; Bloem, D V; Booi, M S; Botha, N G W; Burgess, C V; Cachalia, I M; Cele, M A; Chikunga, L S; Chohan-Khota, F I; Coetzee, R; Cronin, J P; Cwele, S C; Dambuza, B N; Daniels, P; Diale, L N; Dikgacwi, M M; Dlali, D M; Doidge, G Q M; Doman, W P; Farrow, S B; Fihla, N B; Frolick, C T; Fubbs, J L; Gaum, A H; Gigaba, K M N; Gololo, C L; Gumede, DM; Hajaig, F; Hanekom, DA; Hendrickse, PAC; Hogan, BA; Jeffery, J H; Johnson, C B; Johnson, M; Kasienyane, O R; Kasrils, R; Kekana, C D; Khumalo, K K; Khumalo, K M; Khunou, N P; King, R J; Koornhof, G W; Kotwal, Z; Landers, L T; Lekgetho, G; Lekgoro, M M S; Lishivha, T E; Louw, J T; Luthuli, A N; Maake, J J; Mabe, L L; Mabena, D C; Madasa, Z L; Madella, A F; Madlala-Routledge, N C; Maduma, L D; Mahlangu-Nkabinde, G L; Mahlawe, N M; Mahomed, F; Mahote, S; Maine, M S; Maja, S J; Makasi, X C; Maloyi, P D N; Maluleka, H P; Maluleke, D K; Martins, B A D; Mashangoane, P R; Mashigo, R J; Masutha, T M; Mathibela, N F; Matlala, M H; Matsemela, M L; Mbili, M E; Mbombo, N D; Mdaka, N M; Mentor, M P; Meruti, M V; Mgabadeli, H C; Minnie, K J; Mnguni, B A; Mnyandu, B J; Moatshe, M S; Modisenvane, L J; Mogale, O M; Mogase, I D; Mohamed, I J; Mokoena, A D; Moloto, K A; Morobi, D M; Morutoa, M R; Mosala, B G; Moss, L N; Moss, M I; Motubatse-Hounkpatin, S D; Mshudulu, S A; Mthembu, B; Mthethwa, E N; Mzondeki, M J G; Nawa, Z N; Ndzanga, R A; Nel, A C; Nene, M J; Nene, N M; Newhoudt-Druchen, W S; Ngaleka, E; Ngcengwane, N D; Ngcobo, B T; Ngcobo, E N N; Ngele, N J; Njikelana, S J; Njobe, M A A; Nkabinde, N C; Nkem-Abonta, E; Nkuna, C; Nogumla, R Z; Ntuli, B M; Ntuli, M M; Ntuli, R S; Ntuli, S B; Nwamitwa-Shilubana, T L P; Nxumalo, M D; Nyambi, A J; Olifant, D A A; Oosthuizen, G C; Pandor, G N M; Phadagi, M G; Phungula, J P; Pieterse, R D; Radebe, B A; Ramakaba-Lesiea, M M; Ramgobin, M; Ramotsamai, C P M; Rasmeni, S M; Saloojee, E; Schippers, J; Schneemann, G D; Seadimo, M D; Sekgobela, PS; Semple, JA; Sibanyoni, JB; Sigcau, SN; Sithole, DJ; Skosana, M B; Smith, V G; Smuts, M; Solomon, G; Sonto, M R; Sotyu, M M; Swart, M; Swart, P S; Swathe, M M; Thabethe, E; Tinto, B; Tobias, T V; Tolo, L J; Tsenoli, S L; Tshivhase, T J; Tshwete, P; Vadi, I; Van den Heever, R P Z; Van der Merwe, S C; Van der Walt, D; Van Dyk, S M; Van Wyk, A.

ABSTAIN—9: Bhengu, M J; Chang, E S; Mpontshane, A M; Rabinowitz, R; Sibuyana, M W; Smith, P F; Spies, W D; Vezi, T E; Vos, S C.

Majority of support required in terms of section 193(5)(a)(ii) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, not obtained.

Decision of question postponed.

- 8. [15:47] Members' statements.
- 9. [16:20] House Chairperson Ms C-S Botha made a statement in regard to offensive remarks made by Mr R B Bhoola the previous day.

10. FOURTH ORDER [16:23]

Debate on Heritage Day: Proclaiming our African identity through our cultural heritage.

Debate concluded.

11. The House adjourned at 17:18.

ZA DINGANI Secretary to Parliament